But I don’t like Raisins or tofu…

“No Mom, you don’t like raisins”, “yes I do like them now”. “No, you don’t like raisins, remember?” Kirsten, my 19-year old daughter pleaded with me after finding raisins in my last batch of morning glory muffins. I have even amazed myself. Our tastebuds can actually change.  I hated raisins so much that I would almost gag on them.  My mom will testify to this and will probably be quite shocked to learn that I now eat them.  We , my brother and 2 sisters, have for years blamed her for our hatred of raisins after being force fed rice pudding with raisins. We all have imprinted in our memories the time she made us sit at the table  for what seemed an eternity and finish every morsel. You know the line about “think of all the starving children in Africa”. I’m not sure when the change actually happened but it has.

Our relationship with food has alot to do with what we were exposed to as a child. Our kids are watching what we eat and how adventurous we are with food.  If I could do it all over again, I would have introduced more foods to my kids, more than once or twice.  I had never tasted an avocado or sushi or indian food until the last few years.  It takes time to develop our taste buds so don’t give up.  Be adventurous. Model it. You might even like Tofu :).

Morning Glory Muffins (tasty, energy packed, and as healthy as I can get them- make them small)

3 cups whole grain wheat flour

1 cup rolled oats

1/8 cup demarra brown sugar

4 tsp baking soda

2 tbsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

3 cups grated carrot

1 cup raisins

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

2 apples cored and shredded (peel on)

1/2 cup unsweetened appplesauce + 1 tsp b. powder

2/3 cup grapeseed oil

1 cup pureed pumpkin

2/3 cup honey

4 tsp vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a large bowl mix together flour, oats, b. sugar, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Mix and then add in shredded carrots, raisins and walnuts.

3. In a separate bowl stir together shredded apple, applesauce, oil, pumpkin, honey and vanilla.

4. Pour into dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Scoop into 24 muffin tins.

5. Bake about 20-25 minutes until toothpick comes out clean.

2 thoughts on “But I don’t like Raisins or tofu…

  1. They sound very yummy! If only I didn’t have to stay away from wheat and raisins. Thanks for sharing this. Maybe I will make them for my son Robert!

  2. Yup, I remember when you didn’t like raisins OR curry – so funny seeing recipes with both! Love your blog – looking forward to trying more recipes 🙂

Comments are closed.