Kelowna’s Farmer’s Market Opening Day….

This Wednesday is opening day for the Kelowna Farmer’s Market!!!….. see the link below.

http://www.kelownafarmersandcraftersmarket.com/home/news/Default/12/04/2/OPENING-DAY-2012

I made a committment last year to shop local for my groceries as much as I possibly could from the start of the growing season right to the end.  It would have been easier many days to just stop in at the big grocery chain stores but I wanted to see how it would go.  I tried to stick with buying produce that was in season and forego the things that were shipped in. Surprisingly my family really didn’t notice that much, or at least they didn’t complain.  (I know, I do have a pretty amazing family! ) The fresh vegees and fruits were just so flavorful, so fresh, and so delicious we really didn’t miss much.

If you have never visited the market before, bring some cash, your own shopping bag and stroll.  Get to know the Farmers. Ask questions. Find out more about where your food comes from.  You’ll do the planet and your body good.:)

So what’s out when? I can’t wait to find out…… maybe I’ll see you there.

 

