Get Moving…

It seems like a distant memory, our bike trip to the Napa Valley in California, but we did cycle 337 km in 5 days and loved every minute. There was a few moments of questioning ourselves like when we got lost and when we had 10 miles to go at 3 in the afternoon and  the mercury hit 102 degrees Fahrenheit.  The support van was quite inviting, but we couldn’t do it. What a great feeling to pull in knowing we didn’t give up.

We’ve been home now for a couple of weeks and the temperatures have sure dropped. Getting out on a bike is cold so we are starting to think about some other ways to get exercise. This brings me to my main point.

I attended an education seminar last evening titled: “Staying Mobile: The Secret to Ageing Well? ” The take home message was simple:

We must exercise 30 minutes per day/5 days per week minimum to stay healthy as we age. Notice the emphasis on minimum. If we want significant health benefits then 60 minutes per day/5 days per week is recommended.

Watch this U-tube clip titled “23 1/2 Hours”…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUaInS6HIGo

The research is there. Over and over again, the research is saying that our health depends on it. We were made to move.  Start today. Start something. It’s never too late. You are never too old.

2 thoughts on “Get Moving…

  1. Thanks for your latest post Darla.
    I must agree that it is never too late to start to excercise. I didn’t start my program until I was 59. I am now approaching 66 and exercise every day for at least 50 minutes. I feel much better today than I did even 15 to 20 years ago with the combination of eating healthier and excercise.
    If I can do this anybody can….
    BM

    • Thanks for your comment. It’s always hard to get started, but everyone I have talked to who get it and have made it a priority to exercise say it has changed them forever. They feel stronger mentally and physically. I’ve heard it said that the “gym is their happy place”. There is nothing better to relieve stress that to exercise. Again, I encourage everyone to start small and do something you enjoy:)

Comments are closed.