Root Vegetables are still available locally…

Roasting root vegetables is our favorite way to eat them. Squash, carrots, beets, yams, sweet potatoes, and turnip are all delicious done this way. I roasted a turnip,

and this red kuri pumpkin this week for the first time.

Both were delicious and so simple to prepare. I peeled and cubed the turnip, I washed and cut open the pumpkin, removed the seeds and then sliced it into about 2 inch strips leaving on the peel. Both were tossed with a little olive oil, sprinkled with some fresh ground pepper and salt and roasted at 375 degrees for about 30-40 minutes. Serve as a side vegetable with any grain or pasta meal and you might even be as surprised as I was to have my family fighting over the turnips:) I will need to make more next time! Enjoy:)

