Juicing and a Friday morning tradition…

As promised in my last post, I was going to talk about Juicing.  It is something I have thought alot about, read alot about and spent considerable amounts of time researching juicers. I even invited myself over to a friend’s place with a friend, who has juiced alot and had her demo her juicer and favorite juice combinations. It was impressive but seemed like too much work. Too much time to clean the machine, too noisy,  too much waste, (the pulp) and some of the “healthiest” combos just didn’t taste that good.  But…I accidently came across a juicer in a new favorite kitchen store here in Kelowna(Lakehouse) where they were making samples available to customers. Delicious and simple, apple and carrot. By the time she showed me how easy it was to clean and how quiet it was I was sold. I splurged.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXTEPUggyuw

Now I realize most of you won’t be running out to buy a juicer anytime soon, but I have been juicing now for a little over 3 weeks. First thing in the morning, before coffee or breakfast and  before my workout,  I quickly juice varying combinations of fruit and vegetables.and we each have about 4-8 ounces. I am not going to say that I notice any great new burst of energy or better skin or any other noticeable health improvement yet, but I do feel good about getting a quick shot of nutrition into my body first thing in the morning.

Speaking of first thing in the morning..we’ve all heard it said “Breakfast is the most important meal of the day”. I really do believe this to be true. We have kept it pretty simple with a standard repeat every morning of the week except Fridays.  I decided about 9 years ago that Friday would be our special treat breakfast alternating between pancakes, waffles and French Toast.

I found a new pancake recipe, my search was inspired by a local restaurant.  Blueberry Cornmeal Pancakes. A delicious break from the norm. We all love Fridays, enough to come back home for:)

BLUEBERRY CORNMEAL PANCAKES

 ½ cup whole spelt flour

2/3 cup fine cornmeal

2 tbsp coarse stone-ground cornmeal

¼ tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp baking soda

1 tbsp brown sugar

¼ cup plain greek 0%fat yogurt

1 ½ cups soymilk + 1 ½ tbsp vinegar added

1 tbsp grapeseed oil

1 egg, bring to room temperature

1 cup frozen or fresh blueberries

toasted pecans (optional)

Coconut oil for cooking

 

Measure the dry ingredients and stir them together in a large bowl. In a separate bowl lightly whisk the egg, then add the yogurt, the “soured soy milk” and the oil.

 

Combine the wet and dry ingredients gently until just mixed. Do not overmix. Let the batter rest for at least 5-10 minutes. (Don’t skip the last 2 steps!) It will be a bit runny.

 

Heat a griddle on medium-high heat. Brush just a little coconut oil on pan. Use about 1/3 cup per pancake and cook until  a few small bubbles appear on the surface, drop  a few blueberries into the batter, When  the edges look a little dry, flip the pancake over and cook just a little longer..the berries will begin to release their juice. Serve topped with a few more blueberries if you like, a small handful of toasted peacans  or just a little pure maple syrup.  Delicious!

