Are you motivated yet?….

I finally gave in to the pressure over a month ago and got an Iphone. Some of you I am sure will roll your eyes and simply say “it’s about time. …what were you waiting for?”. I was holding back because I just didn’t think I needed to be connected ALL THE TIME. I much prefer face to face or at least voice to voice communication than reading it and I still do. There is so much missing in a text or in an email or even on a blog.

But… there are simply some things that I really appreciate about my new phone.
1) My grocery list. So many times I started a list and it went missing or I forgot it at home or I dropped it along the way.

2) My girls respond to my texts.

3) My daytimer. It is now all in one place, with alerts that remind me.

4) My new app..RUNKEEPER!

I have been keeping an exercise journal for 3 years now. Just a simple Excel spreadsheet where I have put the date, the activity and how many minutes I exercised. This is a great motivator for me. I like to look back to see what I have done, if I have been consistent and how often we rode on which trail.

“RUNKEEPER “ is free and it not only tracks running, but walking, cycling both road and mountain, cross-country skiing and probably others that I can’t think of right now.  It is a GPS program that tracks where I have gone, for how long and my pace. It maps out the route showing elevation changes and it is so fun to compare my progress. I can’t wait to get out there and do my next run just to see if I can beat my last time!

It’s been an interesting week. I sat down with 7 people to specifically talk about lifestyle, and it’s impact on health.  Only 1 out of the 7 did anywhere close to the recommended amount of weekly exercise. I was shocked. I guess I didn’t really believe the statistics that I heard during last week’s lecture.  We have become so accustomed to the conveniences of everyday life that we just don’t need to move. The thought of exercising for the sake of exercising even seemed appalling to some. “Why?” they asked. To think that it could even be enjoyable or fun was out of the question. It was work and they have worked long and hard enough. These folks were all over the age of 60,  with a possible 30 years to go,.   I don’t know about you but I want to be active, independent and have a reason to get up every morning in the last third of my life. If we don’t start moving now, it will not get any easier.

So, what motivates you? What will it take to get you moving? Join a Gym. Recruit some friends and start something together.  No one likes to let down their friends. Start a journal or sign up for an APP. Stop making  excuses. There will never be enough time!

We were made to move. YOU NEED TO MOVE 30 MINUTES A DAY 5 DAYS A WEEK. Find something that you like,  set a goal and start today:)

I know I am repeating myself just in case you were wondering.

3 thoughts on “Are you motivated yet?….

Comments are closed.